• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Stuck in contract to pay off training costs.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

vdog12

What is the name of your state? California

I am a Registered Nurse that signed a contract with my hospital for 18 months in order to receive training and subsequently "pay back" the training costs. The atmosphere has been very hostile, the training subpar and have been put in dangerous situations such as being assigned cases that I have never even seen.

I have been told by numerous long time nurses in this area that this is a rite of passage and that when they trained they used to come home crying every day. The surgeons are very condescending and when told that I am new and unfamiliar with their types of surgeries get belittled and called an amateur. I was also advised that I should not say I have never done these cases before and just sort of fake it. I have gone to management with these concerns, am having numerous medical problems now that I have never had because of the stress and anxiety and have now decided to go back to my old job within the same hospital system.

This was not a great learning experience and feel that the hospital in a sense did not live up to their contract to "make it the best place to work". I do not want to go to a competitor I just want to get back to being happy and doing the work that I love doing. I feel so trapped in this contract. I feel like I have tried to make this a better work environment but it still makes me feel miserable.

Any advice or money to pay off the contract?

VWhat is the name of your state?

turbowray

i can only tell you what ive been told

vdog12 said: