• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Working High Liability Position with Insufficient Sleep -- Need Advise

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

D

DavidOrtiz

Hello, my name is David, I'm a State Correctional Officer Sergeant. I've been doing this kind of work for almost 10 years. I have a problem which I would like input on, especially from anyone who has legal, and/or medical feedback relating to this problem.

Here's my situation, and my question:

When I work a regular day, and I'm ordered to remain another shift, I have no problem, and comply as instructed. This means I work 16 sometimes 17 hours straight. It should be noted I travel an hour to and from work, which makes my day an 18 to 19 hour day, when I work a "double shift."

When I arrive at home in the morning around 9:00 AM, I have to wind-down before I'm ready for bed. This takes me approximately 45 minutes to an hour. I'm ready for sleep by 10:00 AM, and I know in my mind I have to be up by 2:00 PM, to shave, shower, and get dressed to depart for work. This gives me 4 hours to sleep, before I have to get back up again. Needless to say, I can never fall asleep, and I wind up calling-in and informing them I'm unable to return to work the same day, because I haven't had enough rest/sleep. My department seems to believe this is unacceptable, and is indirectly hinting that we must return back to work on the same day, regardless of the amount of sleep we've had, or not had. My question is: Can they "legally" force an officer to get behind the wheel of a vehicle, and drive 51 miles one way, and perform the high liability duties of a correctional officer regardless of the amount of sleep he/she has had?