• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

First Time Divorce and have questions on what to do..

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

amyray50

What is the name of your state? Kentucky

Hello everyone, i am a newbie here and need some advice on what to do. OK here is my situation. My husband and i have only been married a very short time (9 months) and we are getting divorced. He said he does not want the divorce and does not want to be the one to file. However he is the one who got an attorney, and she said she is representing him only. She has set up a meeting with the 3 of us to meet to come to an agreement. Should i meet with her even if i am unrepresented? Since my husband has a lawyer will i get the short end of the stick??
As far as marital property, we have no children together, we do not own a home. Also i am the sole owner on my car that i acquired before the marriage. As for his car, he also acquired it before the marriage, but i cosigned for him. Am i gonna be responsible for this car too, or since it was not acquired during the marriage should it just be his to pay. Also we have a couple of credit cards in my name alone but they are debts that occur during the marriage. Will it be fair and safe to say he will be responsible for half of those? I am so confused and now he is not even contacting me or seeing me, as he said his lawyer told him not to, but she told me today that she did not say that. Also, he moved out of the apartment, and has not helped with the upkeep on it. Any suggestions on how to make this easier on myself. I have bad health and this is making my condition worse. What should i do to make it easier? Thanks for your time!:confused:

BelizeBreeze