• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

What do you do when no one will speak up about physical and verbal harrasment?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

djsmith

What is the name of your state? Maryland

I have been working for a dealership since March 2006. When I began working there my manager began making sexual advances towards me. I turned him down and he got worse. He than began to make fun of my clothes, calling me names "fat, ruthless Bi>>>, WH>>>, asking about my private and sex life, making derogatory comments about my boyfriend who also works for the company and whispering sexual comments in my ear of what he would do to me. There has been on several occasions where a co-worker and I are having a conversation and my boss gets very angry and starts to yell and scream at any guy for talking to me. I have been told by my boss not to talk to anyone and if I need anything I have to go to him and he better not catch me speaking to the GM of the store. Anytime that he see's me speaking to someone other than a customer he gets very angry and yells and screams at me and the other person making it very clear that our jobs are on the line.