• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Car Accident Advice

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

speckler

Hello,

I'm new to this forum, but I am looking for some advice and I hope I came to the right place. I was in a car accident in Iowa this week. I live in Minnesota, but I was down there on business (I'm a self-employed software consultant).

I was driving down a 4-lane road, and a car going the other way was rear-ended and came into our lane which we hit head-on. We were going about 35mph, and although the car we hit was stopped before they were rear-ended, the car at fault was going about 55mph.

My wife was in passenger seat, both airbags deployed, and both of us were wearing seatbelts. We were both taken to the hospital on back-boards, but we were both discharged after the x-rays came back clean. We both had very stiff backs and necks. My wife had a burn on her shoulder from the seatbelt and bruises on her right knee and left ankle that they x-rayed, but were not broken. Even so, she found it quite painful to walk and limped for several days.

By this time, it was late at night so we had to get a hotel room. The next day, I was able to get a rental car, track down our car at a junk lot, and get all of our stuff out of it. We took pictures of the vehicle and our injuries in case we needed them. My wife missed two days of work (she makes $8.50/hr) and I missed one and a half days of work (I'm self-employed and I make $60-70k/yr). The accident occured about 400 miles from our home, and it took an entire additional day to get home after all of that.