• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Speeding 21 miles over limit in residential zone

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mmm159

What is the name of your state? DC

I am a resident of DC and got my first speeding ticket in Fairfax County, VA. Tomorrow is my court date. I understand that the officer gave me a break by writing a speeding ticket instead of a misdemeanor for reckless driving, which is speeding over 20 miles above the posted speed limit. I would like to contest the charge, because I am concerned with the points. I honestly don't know how fast I was going, because I was lost looking for the interstate when he stopped me. He had just stopped another driver just before me. I did mention to him that I was lost. The officer wrote radar on the ticket. What is the best strategy to avoid points assessed on my DC license? Should I plea not guilty and ask for the callibration sheet?

seniorjudge

Q: I would like to contest the charge, because I am concerned with the points.

A: You cannot. Reason: " I honestly don't know how fast I was going, because I was lost looking for the interstate when he stopped me." (By the way: That is a really bad story; don't use it.)

Standard answer

Here are some hints on appearing in court:

Dress professionally in clean clothes.

Do not wear message shirts.

Don't chew gum, smoke, or eat. (Smokers...pot or tobacco...literally stink. Remember that before you head for court.)

Bathe and wash your hair.

Do not bring small children or your friends.

Go to court beforehand some day before you actually have to go to watch how things go.