• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Speeding 83 in a 65 in NY but MA driver

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Nis14

What is the name of your state? NY and MA

So I was driving today and I get pulled over. The officer puts me down for 83 in a 65. My first question is I am a MA resident will this change my insurance at all?

Second, this is my first speeding ticket, I've had no prior offense before this. The circumstances that I was pulled over is a little weird. I was on empty 2-lane highway (in the right lane) I was going up a crest there were two cars in front of me. A truck that was moving side to side in his lane. So the car in front of me and I decide the pass the truck. As we are passing we go over the crest.

We are both going about 75-80 mph the increase in speed was due to the sudden decline. At this point the truck is right next to me like 2 feet away and the car in front of me is about half a car length away I am basically boxed in. As we go over the crest I see the cop for a fraction of a second parked 90' degrees from me.

My question is could he have tagged me with radar when we were going towards him, I mean I don't see how? I was on the other side of the hill? Doesn't he need line-of-sight for radar to work?

Second could he have tagged me even though I was completely boxed in? Is it possible to be that precise? Could he have gotten the speeds of the other cars?

Final question: What do I do from here? I know I'm going to contest the charge. I'm read a bunch of advice online. Like DELAY YOUR COURT DATE AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE. 2, ASK FOR CAILBRATION RECORDS.

If it helps the model the cop was using was the Stalker Dual.

Any advice would be awesome.

cepe10