• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

84 / 55 in NC

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

lucas26

What is the name of your state? NC

The circumstances:
I am a relatively new driver and 26 years old. I commute about 65 miles one way currently.
I was coming back home from on NC-64 at about 7 in the evening.
I have a completely clean record (no tickets, no accidents, no other criminal charges).
Unfortunately I do not have a very long driving history, since before I lived within walking distance to everything in California and got my license when I came to NC.

I was driving out of a 65 mph zone by Pittsboro, at which point I remember dropping my speed down to 60 in the 55mph zone ( I do speed, not denying it, but I try to stay within 5-8 mph of posted limit). Now I had worked a really long day so I was pretty tired and I was focusing on driving and I was not paying very close attention to my speedometer. Bad, I know (or maybe I'm just beginning to really find out). I was planning on pulling off for a break in Siler City... Just as I was slowing down for the 45 mph zone entering Siler City, it started getting dark and I had a car right behind me so I reached up to flip my rearview for night time and then he hit his lights. I was still in a 55mph zone doing about 50. Signaled over and pulled off.