• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Is this harrasement?/What are my rights?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

boo7basil

I live in NH and work in MA. I have been a part time loyal bookkeeper for a local branch of a large corporation for a little over two years. Recently we had about $800.00 go missing which is has happened sporadically here and there. Usually this happens when we are in our busy season and we have 15-20 temp employees for 2-3 weeks. It is not unheard off. On Friday, I received a phone call from our loss prevention officer at the home office asking me to "assist" in the investigation into the missing funds. I accepted without a problem only to end up being accused of theft myself. The conversations started with just the need for a statement from me, then moved to an inderect accusation without ever actually accusing or telling me why the investigation might center on me. I assured them that I had never taken anything from the company or purpusfully caused it any harm. I was then told not to bother denying "it" (the it was never exactly specified as in amount or alleged wrong goind) because the LPO had been doing this for 20 years and he knew I did. He said he also knew about my car accident which I never understood why it came into conversation. What does that have to do with work?