• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Speeding G.S. 20-141(j1)

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

NJtoNC

What is the name of your state? North Carolina

I just got pulled over for doing 57 in a 40. They gave me a mandatory court appearance. The citation code is GS 20-141(j1).

In addition, I am driving with a NJ license after living in Charlotte for 4 months. I'm a student here in Charlotte. I was/am uncertain if I going to make Charlotte my home so I did not change my license. I do not rent (I live with family). So, I don't feel that citation is valid.

What type of fines can I expect? I have a clean driving record. What can I do to avoid points?

Thank you for suggestions and information.

NJtoNC

out of state

Sorry for the confusion, I did not think the speeding violation was invalid; rather, I felt the "out of state" citation was invalid.

justalayman

Sorry for the confusion, I did not think the speeding violation was invalid; rather, I felt the "out of state" citation was invalid.
That makes sense but you never said anything about recieving a ticket for this originally.

Do you maintain a residence elsewhere?

If not,the ticket is justified. Most states allow somewhere between 30 and 90 days to change your license (and by the way, some states require you to change your vehicle title to your state of new residence as well). 4 months is assuredly more than allowed to make the changes.

Sounds like you should be classified as a "Non-resident", check with the DMV.

A nonresident of North Carolina is "Any person whose legal residence is in a state, territory, or jurisdiction other than North Carolina or in a foreign country."

Examples of nonresidents: