• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

unbearable odor

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

K

Ken21

I work in a restaurant which is right next store to a dry cleaner store. The wall between us is not as thick and as dense as the other stores in the same shopping center. The reason is it use to be one lot but the landlord has divide it into two lot. The problem is there is chemical odor coming from the dry cleaner store everyday or so in the winter time.
If the odor became too strong, we have to shut-off our exhaust fan so it would help to lessen the odor because our exhaust fan is drawing their odor into our place. Once we do shut-off our fan, the odor is still there but not as powerful as before. But the cleaner store's owner complaint that our cooking odor is coming to their store once our fan is turn-off. I told him I know that would happen but I rather smell my own cooking odor than his chemical odor which he claims to be safe. He said he uses ammonia and other safe chemicals for his drying cleaning. He insisted that the odor produced by these chemical is safe. I told him if these odor are so safe then the chemical must be safe to drink also. He refuse drink them. Our cooking odor might not be pleasant but it is safe. We can eat the food and drink the soup that produced these cooking odor.