• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Is this discrimination and is there any legal action I can take?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

G

georgia19

Hello! I live in Ohio and work in West Virginia at a camera store that has thousands of stores nationwide. I have been employed there for three and a half years. I work full time as a lab key tech ( I run the one-hour photo lab) Our store manager is leaving soon and I thought I would be considered for the position. I've worked there longer than anyone else. I'm the only full time employee and I manage the lab. I have the skills the manager would need. The first manager I worked for quit in July of 1999 and I ran the store (without title of manager) for two months at the district manager's request. I did all managerial duties and our store made its goals and ran well. When our newest manager arrived, I trained her in areas she wasn't knowledgeable in. Now she is leaving and I have not even been considered for the job. They have known for awhile she was leaving and were having trouble trying to find someone to fill the position. However, the other day I found out that an employee there is being given the manager's position. This employee works part time and only works on the floor, selling cameras. He has no knowledge of the lab. He has no previous management experience. He does not know how to do the paperwork. He doesn't know anything about the job. He has only been employed there for a little over seven months. Also, he is personally acquainted with the other employees there, meaning he goes out to bars with them and has them over to his apartment to "party". I don't think this is appropriate behavior for our new manager.