• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

mold

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Spartans

What is the name of your state? Michigan
I am a current resident at an apartment complex. Mid-December, I discovered water damage on the floor of my bedroom closet. Upon removing all items from closet, I discovered mold growing on the wall to the exterior of said closet. My landlord was informed, and it was determined that there was a crack in the foundation that caused the water leak. This discovery was made about 3 weeks ago, but with the extent of damage to personal property, and the mold growing, it is evident the problem had been there for some time. I expressed to my landlord the concerns about exposure to mold, and that I felt there is mold growing behind the wall itself. The landlord removed the carpeting and washed down the wall. It was approximately 8-10 days before the crack in the exterior wall was "fixed" from the outside of the building. Prior to fixing, it rained and more water/mold was produced, which the landlord again "cleaned." Recently, it appears that mold is again growing along the base of the wall. I advised the landlord, and they came in and "cleaned" the wall again. However, they did not pull the carpet back and therefore missed a large portion of the mold to be cleaned. I have written documentation from that stating the mold has been taken care of the 2nd time, which obviously it is not. I have 3 months remaining on my lease. I will be moving from this residence when my lease expires. I have requested the tenant provide in writing from the Health Inspector, that the area is mold free. I have given the landlord 3 business days to supply this documentation. Esse