• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

who claims the mortgage with 4 people?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

themelliotts

What is the name of your state? NH

Hi Everyone. This is my first time on this site, so if I'm in the wrong place, just let me know! I was wondering if anybody knew how we would go about claiming the house (two-family) if both my husband and I co-own it with my brother and his wife. We both live there, so it would not be a case of renting it for income.

thanks!

seniorjudge

Generally, the person(s) who are legally obligated to make the mortgage payments AND who do in fact make the mortgage payments can take the deduction.

However, I am NOT a tax attorney.

Stand by for further opinions.

nextwife

What is the name of your state? NH

Hi Everyone. This is my first time on this site, so if I'm in the wrong place, just let me know! I was wondering if anybody knew how we would go about claiming the house (two-family) if both my husband and I co-own it with my brother and his wife. We both live there, so it would not be a case of renting it for income.

thanks!
Presumably each couple owns and pays half the mortgage? Half the property taxes?

themelliotts