• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Indepth Tax questions

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

hidenseek

What is the name of your state? NC

I will try and keep this short.

For the past few years I have had jobs off and on. Always low paying jobs, never amounted income over 10,000. Basically trying to finish up school/education. In the past few years though I haven't paid/filed any taxes to those jobs, it wasn't out of not wanting to I just as sad as this sound just didn't know what to do or what I had to do. Just recently I have been working as a personal trainer and am starting to take in an income. I am a private contractor and started trying to learn about what I need to do to pay taxes and am kind of lost. Basically what I am asking is this...

1-Do I need to pay backtaxes on my old jobs? How would I go about doing that?
2-Is there a book or a site you could recommend to read to get a easy understanding of when, how and how much I am going to need to file taxes for my job?

LdiJ

What is the name of your state? NC

I will try and keep this short.

For the past few years I have had jobs off and on. Always low paying jobs, never amounted income over 10,000. Basically trying to finish up school/education. In the past few years though I haven't paid/filed any taxes to those jobs, it wasn't out of not wanting to I just as sad as this sound just didn't know what to do or what I had to do. Just recently I have been working as a personal trainer and am starting to take in an income. I am a private contractor and started trying to learn about what I need to do to pay taxes and am kind of lost. Basically what I am asking is this...