• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Deducting vehicle mileage?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

NotSureWhatToDo

What is the name of your state? VA, but federal question

I am a consultant for a large consulting firm. My home office is about 20 miles roundtrip from my home. My latest consulting assignment is about 80 miles roundtrip to/from the client's facility. My firm does not reimburse me for commuting the extra 60 miles a day to/from the client's facility.

Can I deduct the 60 miles that I put on my personal vehicle each day when commuting to/from the client's facility?

Thank you.

tranquility

Since you have a regular place of business outside of the home, your mileage to a temporary work location is deductible. All of it, not just that in excess of the amount you would have normally. (Unless you stop by the office each morning.) Generally, a temporary work location is one you don't think will last or are not at more than a year.

seniorjudge

Since you have a regular place of business outside of the home, your mileage to a temporary work location is deductible. All of it, not just that in excess of the amount you would have normally. (Unless you stop by the office each morning.) Generally, a temporary work location is one you don't think will last or are not at more than a year.
And my tax CPA says if you keep a daily (or whatever) log of your trips, the IRS will love it when they audit you.

NotSureWhatToDo

Thx for the responses, guys.

tranquility,