• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

broken law: Maintain House???

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

turnpike17

Stillwater, OK.

I am a college student, and recently recieved a $540 ticket by an undercover police officer, and according to the ticket it says i unlawfully maintain house and reasoning behind it was I maintained a premise where alcohol was provided to persons under 21.

Has anyone ever heard of this offense? He also stated it was contrary to this city ordinance and i did some research and there is no such ordinance, although similar ones do exist, nothing like that specifically.

Do i pay the ticket or fight it?

moburkes

Stillwater, OK.

I am a college student, and recently recieved a $540 ticket by an undercover police officer, and according to the ticket it says i unlawfully maintain house and reasoning behind it was I maintained a premise where alcohol was provided to persons under 21.

Has anyone ever heard of this offense? He also stated it was contrary to this city ordinance and i did some research and there is no such ordinance, although similar ones do exist, nothing like that specifically.

Do i pay the ticket or fight it?
Did you really allow underage people to be served alcohol at your home? What statute were you charged with?

turnpike17

There were underage drinkers at my house, like most partys in a university town. I was charged with statute 3-3, and there isnt even one of those, although there is a contributing to the deliquency of minors, although that is a whole other statute, which he did not refer too.

moburkes