• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Police Report

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

sjmjuly

What is the name of your state? Maryland

I just received (from my attorney) a copy of the police report from my DUI arrest March 31st. Some of the information the police officer put in the report is incorrect, and some of the conversations we had while I was in custody were omitted. The officer stated that I told him I wasn't drinking that night. I TOLD him I had drank earlier in the evening, but nothing in that last 2 hours. He also stated I was a college graduate???? Don't know where he came up with that one????? I never said anything to him about college. There were also a few more conversations we had that were not in the report. One of which the officer slipped and said I wasn't intoxicated.
I am not trying to fight this charge, but I am wondering if the judge asks me questions about the report and I tell him the truth, will the judge be angry at me for not agreeing with everything the police officer reported? I blew a .09 - Illegal I know, but I wasn't passed out drunk and remember EVERYTHING that occurred that evening. I just don't want to get in trouble with the Judge. I just want to tell the truth, pay my debt and move on with my life.

Those are pretty minor details and probably won't have much to do with the case anyway, so I think you'd be causing more trouble for yourself than anything else if you made a big deal out of it. In general, judges tend to side with the guy who wasn't drinking.