• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

unclaimed income

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

M

meatballinMI

During the year 2000, I worked (and still do) in a residential situation where I was (and still am) being paid cash. I don't know how to claim this income when I file taxes, and I don't know if I'll get into trouble. I've never worked "under the table" before, and am not sure how to confront my boss in the matter. This was my sole job last year, and other than child support, was my only source of income. Can you give me advice on what to do?
Sincerely, MeatballinMI

L

loku

Domestic work

If you are an independent contractor, then you should report the income on your Form 1040 on Schedule C, business income. That will show that you have your own business and that the income is from that business. You will have to pay your own social security tax on this income (called self employment tax), but you can deduct any business expenses you have.

The alternative is to report this to the IRS, in which case, your employer may get into some trouble about not withholding tax and reporting the income.

crager34

If you decide that you are liable to pay Tax on that Income, listen to loku. He is well versed in that area. If you decide you are not liable to pay taxes (and you probably are not)on that income, simply don't. You want more info? Ask more questions.

L

loku

Tax liability

It is illegal to receive taxable income and not report it on your tax return unless you do not have to file a return because of very low income (if you are single and under 65, the amount is $7,200).