• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Underage citation - court advice

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Leland KB

I am a 19 year old student living with my parents in Pennsylvania attending community college. Last night I was at a large bon-fire party which was busted by police. Most of the people, including myself, were drinking. I was given a breathylizer test and I tested a BAC of .03. The police officers wrote down my information and I was informed that they will be issuing out citations by mail. I know that the legal limit for underage drinkers is .02 and I could get my driver's license suspended for up to one year.

MY car is very important to me. Without driving, I will not be able to go to work, attend college, or run important family errands like picking up my younger sibling from school. Are there any suggestions for what my defense should be? Would it be possible to get this dismissed after convincing the Judge that I am a good kid? I would have no problem with doing community service, it's just my license is what I'm worried about. I ABSOLUTELY NEED my license. Not having it would completely take me off of the path that I need to be taking.

I have had only one previous run-in with the law. It was a retail theft that waslater withdrawn by a Judge in preliminary court. I am currently in the process of getting that expunged. I have a court date for that in a month. Will this underage citation dramatically affect my expungement case, too?

I was not driving or intending on driving that night.

Last edited:

Indiana Filer