• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Age of Majority and Personal Possession rights

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

thejamesman

Nebraska

Hello, Im a resident of Nebraska, and I turn 18 this month. I am having some parental problems, and was wondering -

Firstoff - Can they legally take possesion of my things, and sell them?

Secondly - Once I'm Eighteen, Can I take my things back?

My father is threatening to take everything I buy and call my manager and terminate my job. I have found many things online dictating "Age of Majority", but very little about my personal property rights.

Also - Emancipation -

How would I go about it?

HomeGuru

Nebraska

Hello, Im a resident of Nebraska, and I turn 18 this month. I am having some parental problems, and was wondering -

Firstoff - Can they legally take possesion of my things, and sell them?

**A: yes, and a garage sale or ebay should work.

Secondly - Once I'm Eighteen, Can I take my things back?

**A: not if they are already sold.

My father is threatening to take everything I buy and call my manager and terminate my job. I have found many things online dictating "Age of Majority", but very little about my personal property rights.

Also - Emancipation -

**A: yes, what is your proclamation? DO you have a job? Are you still in school?

How would I go about it?

**A: consult with a family law attorney.

The Occultist