• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

I've got some random questions regarding small business taxes.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

angelleye

What is the name of your state? Missouri

This may get kind of long. I appreciate any information I can get on any of these questions.

--GENERAL INTRO...

I've just this year gotten my own small business going. I use Microsoft Money and I'm very organized. All of my finances both personal and business are accurate in Money for the past 7 years or so. I've always used TurboTax to file my personal income tax at the end of each year.

That being said, I'm no tax expert. However, I find it rather annoying that I just forked over a cool $500 to a CPA here (after going through another that was a complete mess of its own) to fill out a few forms, with which I then still have to handle mailing myself, of course.

With MS Money and TurboTax combined I don't see any reason I can't handle this on my own. I went through Company Corp. when I first got my business registered and everything and they sent me a bunch of books on tax law and how to run your business. I don't see anything in there that isn't covered by MS Money and TurboTax.

Now, I know there are plenty of things that would be nice to have a CPA handle...like these questions I'm about to ask. The problem is I've been through 2 of them now and they don't seem to wanna give me the good advice. I have to ask questions about things and then they give the advice (and charge for it) and then simply fill out the forms accordingly after I decide what to do. That's not what I thought a CPA would do for me. If I'm gonna pay I want somebody to find all little quarks FOR me and just do it.