• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Question about wages lost.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ridgemonster

What is the name of your state? California/San Diego

I got hit 2 fridays ago from behind at a red light. An officer witnessed the accident. The other guy has Progressive Ins. and they told me that he was 100% to blame and that they will cover all expenses. My car was totled and I got paid on that already. I have to have surgery this coming Monday on my right hand (thumb with pins etc).

Heres the question: I had been working up to a week and a half ago doing a contract job. Now I'm unemployed lookikng for work. I'm a licensed Stationary Engineer and have to have the use of both hands to work but now thats on hold till I get through this surgery and therapy all the while not knowing how the results will turn out for future dexterity.
I sent the Ins. company my last 2 pay stubs showing that I was working and that I am, or was employable. My father says that they have to pay me what I was earning or at lest my potential until all is said and done.

Is there someone out there that can give me really great advice on this matter?

Thanks,

Walter

ecmst12

They will not "pay as you go". When your treatment is complete and you are back at work, then you submit a claim for all of your lost wages at once, along with all your medical bills and pain/suffering. I would suggest a lawyer for injuries serious enough to require surgery.

jballidis

You are entitled to wage loss