• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Tax write offs, savings

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

fife321

California

I was wondering how much one saves from a tax write off. I guess i'm pretty new to the tax write off thing and wanted to know what exactly it saved me.

I have an agent whom i pay 10% of my income to. Let's say i make 125k, and give him 12,500 (from my take home pay, not gross). I'm told i can write off 7% of their 10% commission. what does that mean? does it mean that i'm really only losing $3750 (3% of 125000) when you calculate what i get reduced from my taxes? Does the write off of the 7% (or $9250) lower my tax bracket by that amount, so it looks as though i make only $113,850, and that's what i'm taxed on?

sorry for such an elementary tax question, new to the process.

thanks.

TinkerBelleLuvr

California

I was wondering how much one saves from a tax write off. I guess i'm pretty new to the tax write off thing and wanted to know what exactly it saved me.

I have an agent whom i pay 10% of my income to. Let's say i make 125k, and give him 12,500 (from my take home pay, not gross). I'm told i can write off 7% of their 10% commission. what does that mean? does it mean that i'm really only losing $3750 (3% of 125000) when you calculate what i get reduced from my taxes? Does the write off of the 7% (or $9250) lower my tax bracket by that amount, so it looks as though i make only $113,850, and that's what i'm taxed on?

sorry for such an elementary tax question, new to the process.
thanks.Curious here: who said that you can write off only 7% of the 10%?