• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

How can I get my money immediately?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

stupidman

What is the name of your state? IL
I am a foreigner student studying in US. Last year, I met an girl who was going to enter an ivy college at that time. She had some financial troubles at that time. She lived by herself and her family could not provide her any help. She asked me for help and I loaned her a lot of money(roughly $20,000 since then). When she borrowed money from me, she said she would pay me back as soon as she got the inherit from her grandma. In this spring, She got the inherit, and I asked her many times to pay me back. She never returned any to me although she promised to pay me very soon many times. Now I am in an emergency situation and need a lot of money, but she still does not want to pay me back right now and tells me she would pay me after she finds a job after graduate. She also said if I sue her, she would lie in the court saying that she does not have any money, because she does not put the money in the bank account. I need the money in emergency, and do not want to wait for 3 or 4 years. So can anybody provide any suggestion what I should do if she really does this in court?

Thanks

SHORTY LONG

You could try to bring it to your Student Council. Given from what you posted,
you have no receipt, or written contract. Did you loan her cash, or write a
check to her? If you have some form of a legitimate receipt, you may have
some teeth to go after her, but if not, it will be an upheaval travel because,
it stems to your word against her word.

Lastly, I am somewhat surprised that you would lend that kind of money