• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Suing a publishing corporation in New York City

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Nancy29

What is the name of your state? California

I'm a photographer in CA, A magazine in New York City had agreed to purchase first rights publishing of some photos I had shot. The total price was $4000 . They have published this work recently and have pretty much stiffed me-- They are a corporation.

I have to sue in small claims in NYC?

Do I send a demand letter first?

Do I stand a chance collecting the judgement? -- I know they are in business and have publications on stands now. Also they are registered in NY as a corporation

Thank You in Advance --

dcatz

Yes, for many reasons, not the least of which is to avoid having to domesticate a judgment. You don't mention whether there was a contract and, if so, if it had a "choice of law" provision.

You don't have to, but it might save you the cost and inconvenience of litigation.

Do I stand a chance collecting the judgement?

Absolutely, if they are publishing and distributing. But you might consider commercial collection counsel in NY and suing them in a "higher court".
1) The cost of traveling to and from and then enforcing your judgment may equal or exceed the fee.
2) Particularly the advantage of having someone local, who is familiar with the law and procedure, is experienced in enforcement and can act quickly may be cost-justified.
3) Starting with NY counsel, a demand letter may be enough to get you paid.
Just thoughts.

Nancy29