• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Implantable Medical Devices

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

wowem

What is the name of your state? TN

I purchased a case of implantable medical devices online. They were sold by a liquidation company who consigns lost freight items for UPS. The items are 115 Alcon intraocular lenses. I am a nurse at an eye surgery center, and I knew what they were when I saw them, so was able to buy them very inexpensively. They are worth a lot of money. I know they are tracked by Alcon by serial number, and by law the registration card for each lens must be sent to Alcon when implanted. I contacted Alcon and supplied them with a list of every serial number I now owned, in order to prevent any confusion when the lenses were used. I was going to donate the lenses to a local eye docs for indigent cases. One of the docs said he would do my vision surgery in exchange for the donation and would use the lenses for their indigent foundation patients. Alcon is now threatening me, and saying the sale was illegal, and insist on picking the lenses up from me so they can destroy them. They call me and threaten me, but they do not have my address, just my phone number. I read the package, and it does say it's against federal law to sell or dispense the lenses without a license. I did not sell the lenses, and I'm not going to dispense them, either. The online company DID sell them to me, so I contacted the seller, and they want them back too. They say they sold them to me by mistake and they want them back to destroy them. The owner of the liquidation company said she was refunding my payment, and credited an extra $200 to my credit card "for inconvenience". I