• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

how many judges does it take to screw in a...

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

shredex

What is the name of your state? arizona

recently, i got my butt kicked in justice court, by the big dogs that use a rule book that differs from that which our legislature and the supremes have deemed the rules of civil proceedure.
i was a pro per (D), in a breach of contract action. there were a couple dozen pre-trial pleadings involved, mostly comprised of: plaintiff's misrepresentations of the truth and my responses attempting to aprise the courts, lest they be construed as truth. the point here is that 1 judge had knowledge of the various exchanges, and a broad view of the playing field. on the morning of the trial as litigants awaited the justice's arrival, the justice of the peace entered without robe, and anounced that "something has come up, and an alternate would conduct the bench trial".
the alternate and i had a history of disagreement in previous landlord/tenant issues, where the justice refused to apply statute to the issues. upon this justice taking the bench, i motioned for continuance on the following: that there were intricasies of the case that he would not have specific knowledge of, and that i could not receive a fair hearing in absence of. denied. i advised that the (P) had not completed my interogatories and that i was still awaiting material evidence. denied. lastly, i contested that the last minute change of referee denied me my rights to a change of judge, as well as the opportunity to request a jury. denied, and denied.