• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

I got my IllinoisCase Management letter late

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

IWILLSTAND

What is the name of your state? Illinois

I am involved in a nasty lawsuit with my ex-girlfriend. I am representing myself in this case because I cannot afford an atty. right now. I have no experience at being a Lawyer. I recently moved and was mailed a Case Management Order. My mail is being forwarded to my new residence. The post office failed to deliver the letter to the new residence it was sent my former neighbor. When I got the letter it was already past the first date where I was suppose to submit a written discovery. I am loosing my mind over this. I called her atty. for advice (I don't even think I should be doing that) she did not reply to my message.:confused:

dcatz

First, serve written notice of your new address on her attorney and on the court or this kind of thing will be repeated.

Next, forget about getting help from her attorney. That shouldn’t even need saying. If you’re going to represent yourself, talk to Legal Aid, if you qualify, or start spending some time at a law library learning the ropes.

Was it a Notice of an upcoming CMC or an Order that followed a CMC that you missed? (If you missed one, why?). Was it for the initial CMC or the final one? Has a “Show Cause” hearing been set because you weren’t there? You received more than a “sorry we missed you” card. What is going on?