• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Got two "entry without payment" ticket

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

nothappy2008

What is the name of your state? NY

I got caught in the MTA for "doubling up". I got two $60 tickets (one for my friend, who did pay). If I pay the fine on time, will I still have a criminal (or bad) record to affect my future? In fact, I was not intended to double up, but I got too much stuff and my friend went through too slowly, and my ticket happened to have no value left ...

I'm not a citizen, I'm an international student. Would that affect the chance of getting H1B in the future?

Should I plead not guilty by going to hearing or just pay the fine and let it go?

Thanks a lot.

You Are Guilty

We'd need the exact statute number on the ticket to be sure, but it's possible it's just a violation (like a parking ticket) and would not go on, or affect, anyone's "record".

nothappy2008

We'd need the exact statute number on the ticket to be sure, but it's possible it's just a violation (like a parking ticket) and would not go on, or affect, anyone's "record".
On the summon, it said N.Y.C.T.A. Rule Violation charged (21 N.Y.C.R.R. PART 1050)

4(a) entered without payment

I don't have / don't know where to find the statute number though.

Thank you very much!

nothappy2008

Paste "21 N.Y.C.R.R. PART 1050" in to Google (WITH the quote marks). It's the first hit.
It gave me:

http://www.mta.info/nyct/rules/rules.htm

So the number is the section number? In any case, it guess it's

Section 1050.4

Payment of fare and access to Authority facilities.