• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

life insurance taxes

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ghost30

What is the name of your state? Illinois

I worked as a caregiver for an elderly man who passed away last year. When I took care of him he kept telling me that he added me to his will with a certain amount which I will not have to pay taxes on and he put me down as a beneficiary on his life insurance policies. At first I didn't believe him but after he passed away I received a call from his life insurance company that I am the only beneficiary on his life insurance policies. I cashed the policies last year, after that I received a letter from his attorney that I have to pay taxes on the amount I cashed in. Now I was wondering if I have to pay taxes for those insurance policies?
My second question is about a trust he added me to, October last year I have sent two letters to his attorney asking about me being in his trust but I didn't get an answer. This year I had to go through a lawyer to get a partial copy of his trust. After that I received another letter asking for my Social Security number so he can pay the taxes for the amount that I didn't receive yet from the trust. Is his attorney allowed to deduct the taxes from the money I should receive? Can I pay the taxes after I have received the money?
If the trusts are not going through probate, why does it take so long to receive the money and why the executer didn't send me a notice that I am one of the trust beneficiaries.
How can I obtain the full copy of the trust?

I really appreciate any answers I may get.

ALawyer

Taxes on Life Insurance