• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Searching Juvenile--good ol' haglers

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

call me fish

I am a resident of California

I am 17 yrs. old, not on probation,have history of grand theft,intimidating witness,drugs, and commercial burglary.
I have done my time, off probation for 2yrs., and maintaining a job.

Prioror to all this they have stopped me numerous times late at night

Here is my issue:
Because off my job (commercial fishing) I am required to work some long hours at night and only a few in the day. This has changed my sleeping habits to a some what night owl life style. I occasionally go on a walk around 11:00pm or some times 2:30 am to wake my self up. One of these nights i had called a friend to barrow a movie but he said his parents were asleep so i should go to his window (wich is in front of the house).
A cop drove by and stopped me and did the usual gathering of identification.
He then asked if he could patt me for drugs and weapons and off coarse i said yes to a "patt-down" he then whent into my pockets with out consent. I did not struggle with him because i was innocent but i brought up my rights to be searched. He said that because i have a history and i am out past curfew, a pocket search was required to insure "OUR" safety. My brother who also works with me, was with me at the time and he is 23 yrs. old.
The cops often make threats off arrest unless "i just be honest" about crimes in the area, and i know nothing of them. it is not untill i threaten that my rights have been violated, do they let me continue on my walk.
I have been wondering if a search is resonable because i am out after curfew?