• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Estate closed with outstanding issues

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Jack Doe

I'm in Illinois ... this is a little long, but covers the info I hope ... :)

My Uncle's estate closed seven months ago. The POA/executor secretly became an heir in the last year of his life while my Uncle was on narcotics, and alone in a nursing home. The executor had changed the estate lawyer from my uncle's lawyer of 30 years, to a friend of his. I had been caring for my uncle mostly for a few years, before he was moved to the nursing home for his last year and a half. But the will was not contested, as I did not know of any claim I had.

My Mother had a share and we purchased part of my Uncle's farm. The executor purchased a part, but got no written permissions from the other heirs, and I believe gave himself a discount. He is also a neighbor, and our access runs through part of his property. Our purchase agreement had our access written in, but they claimed the neighbor was only acting as executor when he signed, so it was less than legit. The estate lawyer actually FAXed a copy that had my access rights removed, but it was verified with the executor and witnesses that my access and rights to a spring were in the real agreement. (this seemed a deliberate fraud that was overlooked)