• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can I sue?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

qtpiegracie

My name is Grace, Im a college student in San Luis Obispo, California.

I found a roommate on Craigs list and moved in. Her name is Carla. We agreed that I didnt need to be on the lease and that i would just pay her rent and a 400$ security deposit. She has a "seperated" husband. The first time we met she said it would just be her living there.. and ocassionally her seperated husband Anthony would come over. That was fine with me. Except it turned out that they lied to me from the beginning and Anthony was actually living there full time. Both of them are hardcore alcoholics, and ocasionally anthony would come home on crack or meth. He even tried to touch me numerous times while he was high or drunk. So after two months of this ****, I told Carla I needed to move out. She told me I could move out by the end of the month and that she would give me the security deposit. So I made plans to move in with someone else. On the day that I planned to move out, she suddenly tells me I cant, and that I have to wait until next month. (the sudden change of mind was because of Anthony who is always trying to get money out of people.) I told her hell no, and that it was not safe for me to live here and I already made plans. I moved out anyway, and now they refuse to give me my security deposit. Is there some way I can sue them for fraud on top of getting my security deposit. Or should I just go to small claims court for the 400?

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
My name is Grace, Im a college student in San Luis Obispo, California.