• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Somebody Owes Me Money. Need Legal Advice.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jstelt21

What is the name of your state?

Georgia

I apologize if I include too much personal information in this post. I've never done this before, so I don't know just how much information is important and what I should leave out. I'll just summarize the whole thing the best way I can.

On December 8th, 2007, I sent a moneygram for the amount of $1800 to a friend's (ex)fiance in order for them to pay first month and security on an apartment when they ran into an issue with their (His) bank and it locked up. With the transfer fee, the total amount loaned came to $1880. I was promised by the guy that he would reimburse me in full.

He has managed to pay me $575 of that (mostly out of being pressed by my friend/his (then)fiance to do so) to bring the total amount owed to $1305. However, due to my friend leaving him, he no longer seems to be intent on paying me, and is instead ignoring my every attempt to contact him. I've sent him emails, instant messages and have not heard a single thing from him in nearly a month. And knowing the kind of person he is, he is just going to continue to ignore me as long as he has no legal obligation to pay.

My question is, do I have a case? And if so, what should I do to go about this and get him to pay me what he owes me?