• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

taxes

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

GREG3951

What is the name of your state? AK

probably not a usual question but I was wondering if someone could answer this.

I have been in the process of a divorce for over 2yrs. I have been living in the marital home which I purchased originally but has been deemed marital property. I have been paying the mortgage for the last two years. Now with that said. Most states argue that living in the marital home even though you pay the mortgage it is considered rent to the spouse that
is no longer living there. If that is the case then would it not be correct for the spouse not
living in the home to declare that portion that is being paid for them as earned income? And should I not be filing with the IRS documents to show that they are benefiting for my
continued payments. As when the house is sold they will reap the benefit of reduced mortgage balance and interest paid?

LdiJ

What is the name of your state? AK

probably not a usual question but I was wondering if someone could answer this.

I have been in the process of a divorce for over 2yrs. I have been living in the marital home which I purchased originally but has been deemed marital property. I have been paying the mortgage for the last two years. Now with that said. Most states argue that living in the marital home even though you pay the mortgage it is considered rent to the spouse that
is no longer living there. If that is the case then would it not be correct for the spouse not