• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

domain name dispute

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

R

ryante

I a going to be dragged into an UDRP arbitration proceeding to force transfer of a domain name. The people doing this to me have a right to the name. Their attorney's tell me that they are going to enforce to the fullest extent their legal rights against me. I only registered the domain name and sat on it until they approached me to buy it. We could not agree on a price and then the attorneys got involved. My question, what is the fullest extent and will I incure any costs at all?

L

lawrat

I am a law school graduate. What I offer is mere information, not to be construed as forming an attorney client relationship.

Cybersquatting is very serious. Expect to turn over the name at least.

http://www.nolo.com/encyclopedia/articles/ilaw/cybersquatting.html

If you own a trademark and find that someone is holding it hostage as a domain name until you pay a large sum for it, you may be the victim of cybersquatting. You can sue to get your domain name -- and possibly some money damages -- under a 1999 federal law known as the Anti-Cybersquatting Consumer Protection Act.

Under the Act, cybersquatting means registering, trafficking in, or using a domain name with bad-faith intent to profit from the goodwill of a trademark belonging to someone else. It refers to the practice of buying up domain names reflecting the names of existing businesses, intending to sell the names for a profit back to the businesses when they go to put up their websites.

What You Can Sue For