• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Driving While Suspended in another state

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Mike703

What is the name of your state? OH

First let me clarify that I am a resident of VA but currently facing charges of driving on a suspended license in the state of OH. I was pulled over for speeding on the 18th of April. The officer had notified me at that time that my license had been suspended by VA on the 16th and that I would have to appear in court at some place in Ohio that I had never previously heard of (Orrville?). The next day I contacted the VA DMV to find out why my license was suspended and the reason was that I had changed auto insurance providers earlier in the week. I currently have to file an SR-22 through whatever insurance company I am with. I did make the agent aware of this and told that it would be taken care of at the time I signed up. However, it was not and when my old policy expired the DMV placed an immediate suspension on my license. At this time I would like to mention that the state of VA only gives notice of a suspension through written notice sent through the US mail, which I recieved on the 22 of April (The envelope was postmarked on April 18). After finding out the nature of the suspension, I immediately contacted my insurance carrier to find out why the SR-22 was not filed as I had requested. I was told that the policy was initiated by the corporate office and they did not do SR-22 paperwork. If I was to do that, I would have to contact a regional agent (why I was not told this when I first asked I do not know). After being told this, I managed to locate a local agent and had them fax a SR-22 document on my behalf to