• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Citizens arrest

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Texas_CO

I live in Texas. I am a Correctional Officer for TDCJ. My question is:

I know that Correctional Officers [CO] are not "peace officers" as defined by Texas Code of Criminal Procedure [TCCP] Art. 2.12. I feel that since I have training in Restraint Tactics through TDCJ, I am kind of being lazy if I witiness a felony or a breach of peace and do nothing about it. What are the possible civil & criminal liabilities for making a citizens arrest [TCCP 14.01]. Would lawsuits be barred as long as I do not use excessive force or make false arrest?

CdwJava

What is your agency policy on this sort of thing?

It is not only what TX law allows you to do, but what your agency allows. They may NOT want you to do anything more than be a witness. Having training in arrest and control does not mean it is wise to intervene in something without proper safety equipment.

- Carl

outonbail

While you would most likely be fine as far as having any criminal concerns bite you in the butt (in a lawful arrest without excessive force) Your real concern is whether the agency you work for will provide you with legal representation in the event of a civil complaint being filed.

No matter how legal or in the right you or anyone else may be to arrest someone you witness committing a crime, the criminal can always pay an attorney to file a civil lawsuit against you. Just the cost of defending yourself in such an action can bankrupt you.