• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Public Intoxication Charge

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

L

Ladycouger1

I was in a car accident and the driver was charged with DUI. They charged me with Public Intoxication without even giving me a breathalyzer or any kind of testing. They did a breathalyzer on the driver and he did not pass but never gave one to me. Can they legally charge me with Public Intoxication without any breathalyzer results????

L

lawrat

I am a law school graduate. What I offer is mere information, not to be construed as forming an attorney client relationship.

The other driver's situation was probably so blatant, they didn't need a breathalyzer. You on the other hand, are a different story. Now....you don't explain who you are: the driver of second car? or the passenger of one of these cars?

You haven't told us your state, but this is my take: if you were NOT driving and you were merely a passenger in a private vehicle, how can you be charged with PUBLIC INTOXICATION? Fight it on this count --> not public.

L

Ladycouger1

Public Intox Charge