• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Questions about background checks of arrest with no conviction

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

sos12345

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? NY

Hi I'm a college student and I'm majoring in accounting, and will be applying for jobs at financial firms in the future for positions related to accounting. I will be graduating in 2-3 years.
My case was that a year ago I was arrested for shoplifting/petty larceny and fingerprinted, later on I had to go to court and I got an Adjournment in Contemplation of dismissal (ACD) in which I had to attend a stoplift class which is not mentioned on my final disposition and that my case was automatically dismissed after 6 months and I was never asked to enter a plea whether guilty or not guilty plea. My attorney told me that I would not have any criminal record, and I've searched on google about an ACD and it says that all records regarding this case would be sealed and fingerprints and picture would be supposedly "destroyed" after the case gets officially dismissed, I was never convicted of anything since I received the ACD, and according to NY law an arrest is not considered an arrest if there's no conviction and I think I've also read somewhere that in NY it is not allowed for consumer reports to report arrests that did not end up in conviction to employers, is this true?

Now, What does not having a criminal record mean, does it also mean having no arrest records shown to the public? What would show up on my FBI and state rap sheet that is sent to the employer? and how exactly does the sealing of records that end up in dismissal work, what does it do?