• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Restaurant Party Liability/Responsibility Contract...need help!

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Nogibak

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Oregon

I apologize if I am not sure if this is in the right forum or not. Please forward/transfer to the appropriate one, if needed.

I am a small restaurant manager in Oregon, who gets a lot of parties and reservations for weddings, birthdays, etc. a few times a year. The problem is that sometimes the people who make the reservations do not always adhere to what they say and agreed on. For example, a few weeks ago, we had a party. The reservation was made a few months in advance. At that time, we made clear about the payment and conditions details. The payment was to be in cash or credit card only--no checks. The payment was set at a certain amount. After the party, the person responsible for the payment said he did not have any money (no cash or CC) on him. He gave us a check that had no money in it and said that we would have to wait a few days for money to be deposted into that account. Later, he gave us cash, but it was lower than the amount originally agreed upon due to conflicts and disagreements over the service and other things. I believe it was his intention to use this type of "method" to trick or scam us in the first place.