• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

When a step parent adopts, what then happens with child support?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? AL

First of all. I want to point out that this thread isn't to debate why I'm doing this. There are extenuating(sp?) reasons I've decided to go through with this, and that is that. I mean no disrespect.

Now with that out of the way, I'm the father of a child by a girl I was never married to. I've been paying child support for over 5 years now, and she has now been married for the legal amount of time to where her husband can adopt my child. I agreed to it, and her lawyer sent me the forms to sign and notarize, and send back to him. That is where I am now.

1) I can't see a reason why I'd need a lawyer for this. Is there any possible deception that could be cast upon me?
2) Will this process be automated for me after I mail the papers back to her lawyer? (ie- Will I have to do anything else, go to court, and will the child support automatically stop...or is that a seperate process?)

Thanks

momofrose

If you fully understand that your child will no longer be your child and you will be a legal stranger to this child and all that that encompasses..you probably do not need a lawyer.

Child support (current) would stop when the adoption is finalized. You should bring the finalized papers with you to the court or probation office to file for a motion to stop support based on the adoption.

Just Blue

If you fully understand that your child will no longer be your child and you will be a legal stranger to this child and all that that encompasses..you probably do not need a lawyer.