• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

College dorm room searches

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Dave5

Alaska.
Hi. I live in a student residence at a University in Alaska. Lately the police have been doing lots of searches of peoples rooms for minors consuming alcohol. I was just wondering if you have to allow the police in to search your room? Do they need a search warrant or anything. I am not doing anything wrong in my room i just consider it embarrassing and rude to search through peoples personal belongings for such minor offenses.
Cheers, Dave

cyjeff

First, most colleges do not consider underage drinking "minor".

Second, back in the dark ages when I was a resident assistant, your dorm room was considered as your home... and was protected as such.

Having said that... I was also given a passkey to any room in the building... because I was also supposed to investigate in any case where the student would be a danger to themselves....

Check your housing agreement. In the meantime, when the police knock, refuse to allow entry. If they ask to come in or you open the door to let them in or your door is open with you down the hall, you have other problems.

HomeGuru

Alaska.
Hi. I live in a student residence at a University in Alaska. Lately the police have been doing lots of searches of peoples rooms for minors consuming alcohol. I was just wondering if you have to allow the police in to search your room? Do they need a search warrant or anything. I am not doing anything wrong in my room i just consider it embarrassing and rude to search through peoples personal belongings for such minor offenses.
Cheers, Dave
**A: is the school allowing the searches?

Dave5