• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Civil Collection Question

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

N

NMCOBRA

I live in New Mexico and to make a long story short I defaulted on a credit card about 2 years ago. They closed the account and it currently shows it as a charge off. I was recently sued for the full amount. I am a student at UNM and don't currently work. I am wondering if I don't even show up, (they will get an automatic judgement) what can they take? I don't have an income, and live off student loans. I don't own my home, and only have 1 vehicle. I will probably file bankruptcy this summer to clear it off but in the mean time what can they take (cars, personal property, checking accounts, etc.). Thanks

I AM ALWAYS LIABLE

NMCOBRA said:
I live in New Mexico and to make a long story short I defaulted on a credit card about 2 years ago. They closed the account and it currently shows it as a charge off. I was recently sued for the full amount. I am a student at UNM and don't currently work. I am wondering if I don't even show up, (they will get an automatic judgement) what can they take? I don't have an income, and live off student loans. I don't own my home, and only have 1 vehicle. I will probably file bankruptcy this summer to clear it off but in the mean time what can they take (cars, personal property, checking accounts, etc.). Thanks
My response: