• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Who owns the Copyright in an open forum

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

H

helenrowe

When this open forum is moved, all messages, to a new site and made available to only paid users, although can be viewed by registered users, but used as a enticement for people to become a paid user. Am I in my rights to ask them to remove my messages, since they are now making a profit from my conversations?
I was removed from this registered list and now have no access to these messages at all. Where do I stand?

L

lawrat

I am a law school graduate. What I offer is mere information, not to be construed as forming an attorney client relationship.

You should have read the privacy policy. Similar to what you see below:

Public Forums
This site makes chat rooms, forums, message boards, and/or news groups available to its users. Please remember that any information that is disclosed in these areas becomes public information and you should exercise caution when deciding to disclose your personal information.

I.e. you lost the right to choose what to do with it when you posted.

ALawyer

The posting agreement, or terms or contract or policy may also say they own the copyrights. This board's does.

H

helenrowe