• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

I need help for possible Wrong charge

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

terra

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

State: Oregon
City: Eugene

I had done something very stupid a couple weeks ago when I was very depress after a exam in school. I took a hand cream, two kleenex tissue papers, and a medical bandage from a store without paying. The store security guard asked me to come with them after I stepped outside the store. I didn't know why I shoplifting; I have never done it before and I don't have any criminal record before either. But I am very very sorry about my action.

The store security wrote down the whole thing, concluded the whole values of the goods were 34 dollars, and contacted the police. A police officer showed up and give me a citation.

On the citation, the code is 4.822 (which I don't know what it means), and the charge is theft III.

I am scheduled to appear in court tomorrow afternoon, and I considered I am guilty of shoplifting in the store. However, when I check the court's website just now, there is a link to Eugene City Code. So I click it and see maybe there would be a code 4.822. There are not only a code 4.822 for theft charge, there are also a code 4.825 for shoplift charge.

Now, I am confused and I don't know what I should do tomorrow in the court. I was going to plea guilty in the court. But after reading the Eugene's City Code, I think my situation should fall under shoplift II instead if theft III.

I don't have money to hire a lawyer nor do I know where to find a good lawyer. Please help me and give me some advices.

Here are the Quotes and link from the Eugene's City Code: