• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Was I wrongfully suspended?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

RM8771ARM

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? I currently reside in Vermont but my job location is in New Hampshire.

I work as a truck driver for a nation wide company. I recently had to sign an accident report form because one of my side mirrors were cracked. I claimed it was due to mother nature and the water getting behind then freezing and cracking it. My job is saying I did a hit and run which I am not agreeing to. It was turned into corporate. I got back to my terminal last night and I was told by the night dispatcher that i was suppended. They didnt know for how long, they were just relaying a message from the terminal manager. I go back into work this morning to speak to the manager to find more details. He was not able to tell me for how long. All he offered was a doc position in the morning for 3 hours. Keeping in mind I live and hour away. I never signed any suspension papers stating how long, and why. I assumed in every company there has to be written documents signed by me, the manager, and a wittness in order for this to comply. Is there something not being followed in regards to the equal employment opportunity? How should i go about fighting this if even necessary?

RM8771ARM