• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Co-Trustee, Advisor's Taking Advantage

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

USEYOURHEAD

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Indiana.

This is a long question, but I’m hoping to paint a picture of the situation I’m in. :eek:

BACKGROUND
My father passed last spring, my widowed mother is 86 ... I'm the youngest child and have been trusted to guide mother through the wealth management process with Lawyer, Financial Advisor, CPA, etc. I have an MBA in Finance and have completely organized all estate planning documents … plus everything is entered in Quicken.

There are two other children. A sister in 3rd marriage with step-children and a married brother with two sons.

The Net Worth is estimated at about $3,000,000. There is real estate, commercial interests, QPRTs and CRUT/CGA's. Basically everything passed to my mother.

ADVISOR TROUBLE
These advisors were supposed to be long term trusted friends:

-CPA - his first job was at my Dad's company and CPA says Dad was his mentor - now he's charging $2,500 EVERY month for a few phone calls and ONE meeting. Two years earlier my fired the CPA, but Dad was coaxed back in with promises the fees would remain more reasonable. The CPA started in a small firm but is now part of a big nation-wide accounting firm. (My personal accountant doesn’t even charge $2,500 a year and I run an S-Corp business, plus receive a few K-1’s from family businesses.) $2,500 a year vs. $2,500 a month ??? :rolleyes:

- Financial Advisor =20 year relationship. He was supposed to be a close family friend.