• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Threatened by my College for Reporting Rape, PLEASE HELP

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

OPSUBoy2010

I'm a college student in rural Oklahoma. I was raped just over a week ago by a fellow student. I reported this to the Chief of Police the night that it happened and I was taken to the local hospital for a rape exam. Seemed like everything was going how it should, they seemed very professional and supportive... The Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation was brought in... More than a week has passed though and no arrest has been made. I've been moved out of my dorm because it was unsafe for me to be in the same dorm as my rapist (I'm a guy... I never saw this coming, any of it).

Today, I was told by the Director of Campus Safety that if he finds out that I've been discussing what happened with anyone, I'll be charged with slander. Apparently the guy who did this to me has been telling people that I lied about it and the police believe him, not me. I was told that there's evidence of sexual contact but not enough to prove that it was rape.

I have a few questions. First, is it legal for them (the university and the OSBI) to threaten me with criminal charges simply for discussing something that happened to me? Second, the guy who did this is in the Texas National Guard. I realize that if the local authorities won't do anything about the rape, neither will they--But could I get him in trouble with the military for homosexual conduct? The police today told me that I am not a victim... But I am. A horrible thing happened to me and I want something done about it, I want to be safe and I want this guy to pay for what he did. What can I do?